Tampa Residents Told to Expect Toxic Fumes on May 9

Forest Hills is a quiet city neighborhood in Tampa, Florida. But, its residents, pets, wildlife, and groundwater are under threat from the toxic and carcinogenic chemical 1,3 Dichloropropene also known as Curfew or Telone II (product of Dow Chemical).

Tampa Sports Authority (TSA) announced plans to use Curfew on the public Babe Zaharias Golf Course even though it is extremely hazardous to the health of many citizens with homes that border the course, and anyone else who walks near the course.

The ugly facts about Curfew: 

  • Not permitted in 45 U.S. states. Banned in Europe.
  • Toxic and cancer causing fumes drift up to 300 feet for 72 hours after application. 
  • Highly flammable.

Local residents want one of the safer alternatives to be applied to keep the golf course looking beautiful and to preserve property values, but without sacrificing their health and well-being.

You can help help assure that TSA listens by making your voices heard very soon. Tell the TSA: No Curfew 1,3-D on The Babe!!

Here’s how:

Click on the STOP CURFEW NOW button to the left.

Learn More

Protect the Rusty Patched Bumblebee!

The Rusty Patched Bumblebee is now an Endangered Species. (March 21, 2017, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service). This gentle, bumbling bee has rapidly vanished from 90 percent of its range since the 1990s.

Help enact vital protections for this important pollinator of much needed plantlife. Taking decisive action now to guard the welfare of this little creature will also improve the environment for bigger creatures, like you, your family members, pets, and wildlife.

Learn More

EXPLORE, ENJOY, AND PROTECT THE PLANET

Click here to learn about the Sierra Club of Florida and their important work regarding water and air quality protection, fracking, the Sabal oil pipeline, renewable energy, land conservation, animal habitat protection, plastic bag and litter management, and more. click here

Learn More

Next Steps...

Look to the left and click the STOP CURFEW NOW button to see how to sign the petition, and as soon as possible, write or call TSA board members and City Council (details below)

Frank Reddick

City Council and TSA board member

813-274-8189

frank.reddick@tampagov.net

315 E. Kennedy Blvd., Tampa, FL 33602

 

Ken Hagan

County Commissioner and TSA board member

813-272-5725

hagank@hillsboroughcounty.org

601 E. Kennedy Blvd. #2, Tampa, FL 33602

Here’s what to say:

Do not allow the application of Curfew 1,3-D on the Babe Zaharias Golf Course. Please require Tampa Sports Authority to use a safer alternative to keep the Babe green and healthy.

If you can, please also write or call City Council or speak at public meeting

315 E. Kennedy Blvd.

Tampa, FL 33612

813-274-8211

 

Mike Suarez

813-274-7072

mike.suarez@tampagov.net

 

Charlie Miranda

813-274-7074

charlie.miranda@tampagov.net

 

Yvonne Yolie Capin

813-274-8133

yvonne.capin@tampagov.net

 

Harry Cohen

813-274-8134

harry.cohen@tampagov

 

Guido Manascalco

813-274-7071

guido.maniscalco@tampagov.net

 

Luis Viera

813-274-7073

Luis.Viera@tampagov.net

 

For City Council agendas and meeting schedules, call above number or visit

https://www.tampagov.net/city-council/info/agendas

 

 

Write or call TSA board

4201 N. Dale Mabry Hwy., Tampa, FL 33602

 

Luciano Prida

813-226-6091

lprida@pridacpas.com

 

Andrew Scaglione

813-968-4996

ajstally@aol.com

 

Vincent Marchetti

813-222-5029

vmarchetti@stearnsweaver.com

 

John Jaeb

813-226-0406

jjaeb@verizon.net

 

Tony Muniz

813-932-7944

tony@gabrieltampa.com

 

Kalyn Brandewie

813-251-3333

kalyn@floridaretailpartners.com

 

Don Defosset

813-229-4190

ddefosset@gmail.com

 

Ken Hagan (County Commissioner)

813-272-5725

hagank@hillsboroughcounty.org

 

Randy Larson

813-240-7940

randylarson@me.com

 

 

Thomas Scott

813-503-8029

tscott256@aol.com

 

Eric Hart

813-350-6500

ceo@tampasportsauthority.com

 

For TSA meeting schedule call above number or visit

www.tampasportsauthority.com